The New Pond

It was enrollment week this week, and the new pond was finished in time. It also fits in our big cupboard which is a relief.

The total cost came in at around £10 and it is built to last a long time. The back is securely fastened with duck tape, and the mirror is lovely and shiny, with the letters showing nice and clearly. We had flowers and leaves scattered around the pond, and I’m quite liking another Brownie tradition I’ve heard of which I’ll come to in a bit.

So here’s the pond! Minus the leaves unfortunately as we had to get into the ceremony so I didn’t get a picture this term.

Brownie pond, Enrollment ceremony at Brownies

I love this tradition and want to start it next term. Each Brownie is given a pebble to put their name on and decorate. When it is promise time, the new Brownie puts their pebble by the pond alongside all the others. When they leave they take their pebble with them, so it’s something which lives with them throughout their three years at Brownies.

We have 30 Brownies and a (hopefully) big enough pond.

Looks like I’m going to have to have a trip to the seaside (such a shame 😉 ).

Leave a comment