Shrinky Dink Necklace

H and I had a trial run at the Shrinky Dink paper to see what colours worked the best, and how small what you’re colouring would end up being. My idea is now for all our girls to make a necklace with their name on – which should be a quick activity. All I need to do is bring the shrinky dink papers home to bake and bring back in the following week to finish off.

Shrinky Dink COllage

H and I drew a design, making sure it filled as much of the paper as possible. Where there were letters we made sure they were clear too with careful colouring around them.

I opted for my Brownies name, Snowy Owl and a heart which said “I heart Girlguiding”. H did one that says “I heart Mummy”.

So we sat, coloured on the rough side of the paper (I used pencils, H used felt tips – both worked fine), filled in gaps and made sure it looked as clear and even as possible.

A hole punch was used to make a hole for threading later on, and we trimmed carefully around the design.

trimmed shrinky dink

Warm the oven to 170 degrees (I did it a bit less as we have a fan assisted oven) and put the creations on some tin foil on a baking tray. Watch them curl and twist about, until finally they stop.

shrinky dinks in the oven

This should be no more than a couple of minutes, tops.

finished shrinky dinks

Take them off the tray carefully. We put them onto a tea towel, making sure they were still hot, and flattened them carefully with a book. Hold for maybe 10-15 seconds, not too long.

That’s it!

After that I put a metal hoop through the hole (easier than threading) and tied a piece of cord around the hoop and in a knot. Voila, a super easy necklace which has shrunk loads in size!

shrinky dink necklace

Leave a Reply

